Oregon Roofing Laws You Should Know

Posted on Tools sitting on a tile roof that is being installed

Oregon has several laws which affect roofing contractors, workers, and residents. Ignorance is never an answer, and cannot alter the law or the consequences for breaking it. Even if you’re not a roofing contractor, it is helpful to understand some of these basic roofing laws in your state if you plan on hiring one.

Continuous Education Requirements

All roofers are required by the law to have at least eight hours of classes during each two-year licensing period. The classes should include three hours of CCB-developed courses in business practices, laws, and regulations. An additional five hour Series A courses training on codes, safety, and business management. The CCB must approve all courses. If a course is not available in the CCB’s online catalog, it doesn’t improve a roofer’s credit rating, but it may work in your favor.

Worker Compensation

Contractors using leased workers are referred to and nonexempt contractors. Nonexempt contractors don’t require having worker compensation insurance for its officers or owners. The leasing company is supposed to provide employee compensation cover for the employees.

Roof Coverings vs. Replacement

Roof coverings should be installed without removing existing roof coverings in case the following occasions occur:

  • Where the current roof cover is wood shake, clay, slate, asbestos-cement tile, or cement.
  • Where the current roof cover is water-soaked or has deteriorated to a point where it cannot support any additional roofing, there is no need to remove it.
  • Asphalt shingles should be used when the building is located in areas subjected to severe hail damages.
  • Where the existing roofing material has two or more applications of any roofing, new roofing should be installed on top of it.

However, there are some exceptions to this law.

  • Metal shingle, metal panel, clay tile and concrete tiles can be installed over existing wood shake roofs.
  • Complete and separate roofing systems designed to transmit roof loads directly to the structural system of a building and don’t rely on existing roof coverings for support are not required to remove the existing roofing during repairs.

Fall Protection

The new Oregon fall protection laws have been changed. Starting from January 2017, the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division reduced the 10-foot trigger for fall protection to six feet. The new requirement means that contractors will use a different form of fall protection to protect their employees from falling from six feet or more.

Handyman Exemption

The threshold for performing some tasks without a contractor license now stands at $1,000, up from $500 (for example, doing roofing work for a friend). To qualify for exemption, a roofer should do a task that is minor, casual, and inconsequential. The work should not affect health or safety, and should be structural. For clarification, consult with a construction attorney.

Written by
Terry Slate
Terry is the Vice President of Slate & Slate Roofing and has over 28 years of experience with both residential and commercial roofing. He specializes in metal roofing, composition roofing, and PVC membrane roofing.